Michael King wrote more than 30 books on a wide range of subjects. These are listed below.

This year his daughter Rachael King, who is a prominent novelist,  has written a book which includes some of his previously unpublished work.  The Silence Beyond has recently been published by Penguin.  

  • Moko: Maori Tattooing in the 20th Century (1972)
  • Make It News: how to approach the media (1974)
  • Face Value: a study in Maori portraiture (1975)
  • Te Ao Hurihuri: aspects of Maoritanga (ed.) (1975)
  • Te Puea: a biography (1977)
  • Tihe mauri ora: Aspects of Maoritanga (ed.) (1978)
  • New Zealand: Its Land and Its People (1979)
  • The Collector: a biography of Andreas Reischek (1981}
  • Being Maori - John Rangihau (1981)
  • New Zealanders at War (1981)
  • A Place to Stand: a history of Turangawaewae Marae (1981)
  • G.F. von Tempsky, Artist and Adventurer (with Rose Young) (1981)
  • New Zealand in Colour (1982)
  • Maori: a photographic and social history (1983)
  • Whina: a biography of Whina Cooper (l983)
  • Te Puea Herangi: from darkness to light (1984)
  • Being Pakeha: an Encounter with New Zealand and the Maori renaissance (1985)
  • Auckland (with Eric Taylor) (1985)
  • Kawe korero: a guide to reporting Maori activities (1985)
  • Death of the Rainbow Warrior (1986)
  • New Zealand (1987)
  • After the War: New Zealand since 1945 (1988)
  • One of the boys?: changing views of masculinity in New Zealand (1988)
  • Apirana Ngata: e tipu e rea (l988)
  • Moriori: a people rediscovered (1989)
  • A Land Apart: the Chatham Islands of New Zealand (1990)
  • Pakeha: the quest for identity in New Zealand (1991)
  • Hidden Places: a memoir in journalism (1992)
  • Coromandel (1993)
  • Frank Sargeson: a life (1995)
  • God's Farthest Outpost: a history of Catholics in New Zealand (1997)
  • Nga iwi o te motu: one thousand years of Maori history (1997)
  • Being Pakeha Now: reflections and recollections of a white native (1999)
  • Wrestling with the Angel: a life of Janet Frame (2000)
  • Tomorrow Comes the Song: a life of Peter Fraser (with Michael Bassett) (2000)
  • Tread Softly for you tread on my life: new & collected writings(2001)
  • An Inward Sun: the world of Janet Frame (2002)
  • At the Edge of Memory: a family story (2002)
  • The Penguin History of New Zealand (2003)

The Silence Beyond, with an introduction by his daughter Rachael King, was published in 2011


Michael King's biography of Janet Frame - Wrestling with the angel