News 2016

2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement: call for nominations

17 February 2016

Don’t miss your opportunity to nominate your pick of our finest writers for the 2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

Every year, New Zealanders are invited to nominate writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. $60,000 is awarded in each genre.

New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.

The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.

In 2015, Roger Hall was awarded for Fiction; Bernadette Hall for Poetry, and Dame Joan Metge for Non-Fiction. See the full list of winners here.

Find out how to nominate a writer here.

Nominations close on Friday, 19 May at 5pm.
Media, please contact:

Sarah Pomeroy
Senior Communications Adviser | Kaiārahi Matua Whakawhitiwhiti Kōrero
Creative New Zealand | Toi Aotearoa

Mob: +64 27 677 8070 | DDI: +64 4 498 0725 | Ext: 725 | Fax: +64 4 471 2865

E:| W:


Archived Media Releases