News 2016

Grimshaw Sargeson 2016 Fellowships announced

14 March 2016

New Zealand writer and journalist Diana Wichtel and Dunedin writer Breton Dukes will share the 2016 Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship.

Now in its 30th year, the Fellowship is a national literary award offering published New Zealand writers, both here and overseas, the opportunity to focus on their craft full-time, with a stipend and tenure at the Sargeson Centre in Auckland.

Diana has worked as the television and feature writer at the New Zealand Listener since 1984. She will be using the fellowship to work on a memoir exploring the impact of the Holocaust on her own family history.

Breton, an acclaimed short-story writer, will be using the fellowship to work on his first novel.

The Frank Sargeson Trust was formed in 1983 by Christine Cole Catley, Frank Sargeson’s heir and executor. The Trust aims to continue Sargeson’s lifelong generosity to writers through providing residential fellowships while preserving his house in Takapuna, Auckland, as New Zealand’s first literary museum. The first fellowship was awarded to Janet Frame in 1987.

Learn more about Frank Sargeson and the Fellowship here

For more information contact:

Caroline Brown  


Archived Media Releases