Signals 2015 and Chris Cole Catley Award winners

Mar 2016

Signals 2015 and Chris Cole Catley Award winners

The Michael King Writers’ Centre launched the fourth issue of Signals, its literary journal for young writers, on Saturday 5 December at the National Library in Auckland.

The journal features the work of senior secondary students who took part in this year’s Young Writers Programme, as well as showcasing winning pieces from the Chris Cole Catley Writing Awards. Alumni of the Programme are also published in Signals 4.

 The 2015 Programme attracted more than 120 senior students, representing schools from all over Auckland.Leading writers contributed to workshops and master classes in collaboration with tutors Ros Ali and Jo Emeney. Guests included Charlotte Grimshaw, Paula Morris, Anna Smaill, Ian Wedde, Robert Sullivan, Tusiata Avia, Virginia Larson, Toby Manhire and Tim Wilson.Copies of Signals will be distributed to Auckland secondary schools and libraries. The journal will be available from the Michael King Writers’ Centre.The Young Writers Programme thanks Creative New Zealand for its support. Signals is published thanks to a grant from the Joyce Fisher Charitable Trust. 

Winners of the Chris Cole Catley Awards were:

Winner: Sophie Van Waardenberg
Second Place: Amelia Kendall
 Third Place:   Rachel Meadows
Winner Joanna Li
 Second Place:  Mirren Rabbette
Third Place Daniel Meech