2022 MKWC Residencies

2022 Residency Programme Recipients

We are excited to announce the recipients of our 2022 residencies – they are:

1.     Claire Baylis Emerging Writer
2.     Shilo Kino Emerging Māori Writer
3.     Faith Wilson Emerging Pasifika Writer
4.     Scott Butler Established Māori Writer
5.     Ashleigh Young Established Writer – Late Summer
6.     Matthew Packer Emerging Writer
7.     Mandy Hager Established Writer – Early Autumn
8.     Michele Powles Established Writer – Autumn
9.     Tara Black Emerging Writer
10.  Sinead Overbye Emerging Writer
11.  Gillian Candler Established Writer – Winter
12.  Clare Moleta Established Writer – Winter 2
13.  Shriya Bhagwat Emerging Writer
14.  Emma Espiner Established Māori Writer
15.  Craig Gamble Emerging Writer
16.  Pauline (Vaeluaga) Smith Established Pasifika Writer
17.  Erik Kennedy Established Writer – Late Spring
18.  Madison Hamill Emerging Writer
19.  Anna Rankin Emerging Writer
20.  Vana Manasiadis Established Writer – Early Summer

Thanks to all who applied – if you didn’t get a residency this time, we hope you will stay in contact and apply again next year.

Writers who do not qualify for the supported residency programme are able to apply to be a visiting writer on a paying basis.

The Michael King Writers Centre plans to invite applications from New Zealand writers for the 2023 residency programme in approximately September next year. Details will be available on this page.