2021 Residency Programme Recipients

We are excited to announce the recipients of our 2021 residencies – they are:

  1. Anna Jackson – Established Writer
  2. Emma Hislop – Emerging Māori Writer
  3. Gina Cole – Established Pasifika Writer
  4. Helen Vivienne Fletcher – Established Writer
  5. Ingrid Horrocks – Established Writer
  6. Jane Bloomfield – Established Writer
  7. Jared Davidson – Established Writer
  8. Jordan Hamel – Emerging Writer
  9. Kate Duignan – Established Writer
  10. Kerrin P. Sharpe – Established Writer
  11. Kiran Dass – Emerging Writer
  12. Kyle Mewburn – Established Writer
  13. Lana Lopesi – Emerging Pasifika Writer
  14. Miro Bilbrough – Established Writer
  15. Nathan Joe – Emerging Writer
  16. Octavia Cade – Established Writer
  17. Pip Desmond – Established Writer
  18. Steph Matuku – Established Māori Writer
  19. Tracy Farr – Established Writer
  20. Zarah Butcher-McGunnigle – Emerging Writer

Thanks to all who applied – if you didn’t get a residency this time, we hope you will stay in contact and apply again next year.

Writers who do not qualify for the supported residency programme are able to apply to be a visiting writer on a paying basis.

The Michael King Writers Centre plans to invite applications from New Zealand writers for the 2022 residency programme in approximately September next year. Details will be available on this page.

Writer-in-Residence bedroom

Writer-in-Residence private writing studio